Dukan – Days 219 & 220 – Dukan Recipe Cuban Flank Steak

Monday was a PP day πŸ™‚
Tuesday was a PV day πŸ™‚

Monday:
Daily Weight Loss: 0.4 lb/0.2 kg
Total Weight Loss: 81.2 lb/36.91 kg
Tuesday: No change – same, same

Tuesday food (since I have no recollection of yesterday… LOL, I DO know it was PP)
Breakfast: 2 Tea Eggs
Lunch: Green leafy salad and tin of tuna
Dinner: Cuban Flank Steak… recipe below.

I have to say, this is YUMMY!!! And if you leave out the mushrooms and only add onions, it’s a PP meal.

I got the recipe idea from although I didn’t use flank steak and mine come cut in chunks already, which is how I have to eat them, given I don’t have an oven or a grill.

Serves 1

8 oz. of Top Round, flank steak or in my case Chinese Beef Top – Cubed
Marinade:
Juice of 1 large Lime
1/8 cup of Olive Oil
1 tsp Cumin
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp Soy Sauce
**To make this Whole30 compliant use Coconut Aminos**
1/2 tsp favorite hot sauce or chili powder… I used Daddy Mac’s Awesome Sauce (my son-in-law makes this with his home grown habanero peppers!)

With dinner:
1/2 Large onion chopped in chunks
And if a PV day, handful of mushrooms

Prep time: 2 minutes
Put meat in bowl or zip top baggie.
Put the rest of the marinade ingredients in there.

I thought about this marinating in my fridge ALL.DAY.LONG!

Shake, shake, shake and put in the fridge for 8 or more hours.

Cook time 11 minutes
Remove marinated meat from fridge.

When I took the lid off… yum… the smell was incredible!

Put 1 Tbsp Olive Oil in skillet or wok.
Heat to Medium-High.
Put the meat in and cook for 5 minutes.

Turn meat over.
Put the onions in and cook for 3 minutes.

Notice that lime is still in there πŸ™‚

Toss the mushrooms in, if you’re making it a PV dinner, and cook for 3 minutes. I used Enoki mushrooms which are kind of like al dente pasta when cooked… sorta. And they basically have NO CARBS!!!

Plate and Enjoy!

My pics may not be stunning or artistic, but you can tell this food is GOOD!

I’m off to Hong Kong for 3 days tomorrow (Weds – Friday) to renew my visa and get a little R & R. I’ll try to keep you updated from there!

p.s. C25K is moving right along… I am running 2 nights on, 1 night off and not having any problems with it… I’m enjoying it! πŸ˜€

Ciao!

24 thoughts on “Dukan – Days 219 & 220 – Dukan Recipe Cuban Flank Steak

  1. Looks totally Yummy!!!
    I have passed on to you the Liebster award…pass it on…
    (if you don’t want to I will not be offended)!!

  2. Another fab dish- look forward to trying it! Have a fab time in Hong Kong :). Fab weather here, went on a spa day given to me by Mark & Harry, went with a dear friend, had a facial and a massage and a delicious dukan ? lunch – bliss, now lost 44 lbs, 6 more to go!

  3. One of my favorite things to make! I’m going to have to pull that one back out. It’s been a long time since I’ve made it!
    ~J

  4. That dish looks very tasty. I am not familar with either Flank beef or Beef Top. Is it kind of like stewing steak – a bit tough and in need of marinading? I would love to try it!

  5. That looks grrrreat! I love simple tasty recipes. Love the lime in there, just never think to add that to meat/steak although I imagine it tastes terrific. Have a refreshing time in HK.
    *anna

  6. We’re definitely trying this…we love Cuban food! Will it come out okay with less oil and chicken? We already made beef and the male half won’t want to eat beef again for a couple months hee hee

    • I think this would be amazing with chicken. You can probably use less oil. EVOO is the one thing I didn’t stop using on Dukan. It’s apparently not had an effect on my weight loss πŸ™‚

      • We made this tonight and loved it. Decided to take my chances and pick up some steaks, no complaints from the male half. Thanks for sharing! Ours did not look as good as yours though…I think I overcooked ours!

Leave a comment